talk normal is the belligerent child of myself & andrya ambro. it traveled many times around America, Canada, Western Europe & some of Japan. now it's been sent off to boarding school. here's what we did:


bad date

in a strangeland

transmission lost


cover by tn + ted mcgrath

Released via Joyful Noise Recordings, 2013

Recorded in about 6 too many studios for anyone's sanity, this will probably be the last TN LP.  Some big leaps forward, w/a lot of love.

  1. Lone General 
  2. XO
  3. Bad Date
  4. Sunshine
  5. Hot Water Burns
  6. Shot This Time
  7. Cover
  8. Baby, Your Heart's Too Big
  9. Hurricane

M'Lady's 7"

cover art by kim gordon

Released via M'Lady's Records, 2011

A preview of two tracks from Sunshine, this 7" has demo versions of Lone General & Hurricane. This was soon after Kim Gordon had done her "Noise Paintings" series & she kindly let us use her artwork where she'd homaged our band.


cover by tn + ted mcgrath + kim bost

Released via Rare Book Room Records, 2009

Our first full album, came into existence with much appreciated love & support from Mike Wolf & Nicolas Vernhes.

  1. Hot Song
  2. In A Strangeland
  3. Bold Face
  4. Mosquito
  5. Transmission Lost
  6. River's Edge
  7. In Every Dream Home A Heartache
  8. Uniforms
  9. Warrior
  10. Outside

Secret Cog

cover by sarah register

Released via Just For The Hell Of It Recs & Menlo Park Recs, 2008

  1. Grinnin' In Your Face
  2. Eureka
  3. Lemonade
  4. 33 (Featuring Richard Hoffman)
  5. Rest With Me

Prata Normalt

art by fagge fagerstr ö m

art by fagge fagerström

Released via Moptaco Dics, 2008

A surprise limited edition bootleg, made by Daniel Fagerström without our knowledge (& to our delight) from recordings during a 2008 tour with The Skull Defekts.  

  1. River's Edge
  2. Bold Face
  3. Grinnin'
  4. Hot Song
  5. Lemonade
  6. Outside

Night People Cassette

cover by shawn reed

Released via Night People People Records & Tapes, 2007(8?)

This was a huge confidence boost in 2008, that THE Shawn Reed wanted to put out a tape for us on Night People.  Still a favorite.

  1. Grinnin' In Your Face
  2. Eureka
  3. 33
  4. Rest With Me

Demos v2

cover by sarah register

Burned onto CDRs by me, late 2007

There was a v1 version that included an impossible to find old TN song called B-L-U-E-S.  It got the boot early but still has a place in my heart.  The v1 cover art was only slightly different.  I believe v2 was the same tracklisting as the Night People Cassette.


Above is everything that's us & only us.  From here on down it's split 7"'s & compilations.

Cause & Effect 7" Series

art by shawn k. knight

Joyful Noise Recordings releases a ton of gorgeously packaged, inventively thought out collector's items.  It was cool to be asked to be involved in the 2013 debut of this 3x7" Cause & Effect annual series, with JN's concept of "first came one, then came the other" pairings.  We're matched up with Thurston Moore, and it's fair to say that Sonic Youth had an impact.

  1. Lou Barlow - Crack and Emerge
  2. Dumb Numbers - Last Night I Had A Dream
  3. Thurston Moore - Gleo 
  4. Talk Normal - Shot This Time 
  5. David Yow - Thee Itch 
  6. Child Bite - Abysmal Splatter 

Gold Dime 7" split w/Thurston Moore

cover by tn

Fast Weapons released this 7" in 2011, which was to become our first of two split 7"'s with Thurston Moore (see above).  Nathan Howdeshell set this all up and kind of sprung it on us, resulting in this somewhat slapdash version of Gold Dime, a track that was intended for Sunshine but didn't make it.  I'm glad (especially in light of that) that this came into being, it was a strong and weird step forward for me personally, and it let me tell a story + get a monkey off my back.

  1. Thurston Moore - Boogie X, Hot Date, Boogie Y
  2. Talk Normal - Gold Dime

Quick Words 7" split w/Christy & Emily

cover art by maya hayuk + morgan blair

German record label Klangbad released this 7" in 2011, a split with fellow Brooklyn-ers Christy & Emily.  This felt fondly like a neighborhood project, with art by locals Maya Hayuk and Morgan Blair.  Our side is the same version of Hurricane that later was the B side of the M'Lady's 7".

  1. Christy & Emily - Bells
  2. Talk Normal - Hurricane

Cassingle split w/Lower Dens

cover design by sarahana

It would be impossible to say enough good things about Impose Records, Impose Magazine and/or Impose owner Derek Evers.  Similarly impossible to sum up the wonder that is Lower Dens.  This was released in 2010... long before then we'd played a weird, awesome & soaking wet show @ Bard College with a real mixed bag of characters on the lineup, which is where we first saw & met the incredible Jana Hunter.  This cassette has an early version of Hot Water Burns, which was re-envisioned eventually for Sunshine

  1. Lower Dens - Submit
  2. Talk Normal - Hot Water Burns

Not Not Fun's "My Estrogeneration" Comp

art by diva dompe

Featuring TN in the company of:

Zola Jesus, Tickley Feather, Pocahaunted, Inca Ore, Topaz Rags, HNY, Islaja (featuring Samara Lubelski and Blevin Blectum), LA Vampires, U.S. Girls, Valet

7" split w/Shearing Pinx

trying to find out who did this art

I don't know a ton about this 2011 Scotch Tapes release and am not sure that I've ever seen a copy.  But I can say that we once played in Vancouver with Shearing Pinx and they were face-meltingly awesome, and very kind.  It was a good night.  An early version of XO is our track on this 7", another one that was later revamped for Sunshine.

I enforced a no-nipples policy for this cover, for better or worse.

no image for: the illustrious "Coldest Beer In Town" compilation cassette, made by Allison of Awesome Color